JUNE 1982 PDF Print
Wednesday, 15 August 2012 15:33

JUNE 1982

June 1, 1982 – Belinda K Ward has been selected as organization editor for the Eastern Progress, EKU’s newspaper.

June 2, 1982 – Larry Lowe was recently named the winner of the DeKalb Agri Accomplishment Award. He is a 1982 Barren County High School graduate.

Eastern Elem. School PTA officers are Elaine Chenoweth, Pres., Linda Wells, VP, Kathy Ragle, Sec., Nellie Gooden, Treas., and Beverly Pedigo, Reporter.

June 3, 1982 – Far Off Broadway players with Co-Director Scott Coffman and Director Linda Moon  presents “The Butler Did It” . Mahlan Grinstead plays the pivotal role of Miss Maple.

June 4, 1982 – Roger Elmore and Ernest Cassady jog along Leslie Ave in preparation for the Great Summer Fun Run.

Engagements announced in June include Carol Ann Schwegman and William McKendree Newberry, III.

June 7, 1982 – Ken Perry of Franklin wins the C G Follis Invitational Golf Tournament at the Glasgow Golf and Country Club. Greg Gary was second and Johnny Belcher was third.

June 8, 1982 – Stephanie Jo Jennett is crowned Miss Barren County Fair.

June 10, 1982 – Wallace G Wilkinson, a Lexington businessman and L Rogers Wells, Jr. make  an offer to buy at least 80% of New Farmers Bank stock.

June 10, 1982 cont.
Caverna Honor Students are Angela Rhea Wilcoxson, Valedictorian, and Co-Salutatorians are Dedra Strode and Kim Page.

June 11, 1982 – Employees of Barren Metcalfe County Ambulance Service have  moved into their headquarters on E. Main Street.

June 13, 1982 – Steve Hamilton is featured as he takes flying lessons in a Cherokee Arrow plane from Instructor T J Jewell.

Recent Births – Leslie Ryan Lambert, Eric Dustin Pace, Emily Elizabeth Webb, Alicia Nicole Warren, Benjamin Ruben Frasier, Terryn Mollie Honeycutt, David Bradley Wyatt, and Kyle Dane Bowles, Jr.

June 14, 1982 – Inez Carter,  Irene Gibbons and Sharon Anderson are honored for their years of service to Kentucky Pants Co. # 1 & 2.

Mr. and Miss Eastern are Melissa Thomas and Derren Steenbergen.

June 16, 1982 – Temple Hill School gets new playground equipment thanks to the Playground Equip. Committee, Delane Garrett, Chairman. Garrett, a local woodcrafter, built the equipment at a much lower cost than purchasing retail equipment.

Bill Bucher, outgoing Park City Lions Club President hands the gavel to the new president, Jerry Rewff.

June 16, 1982 cont.
Barren County Fair Baby show winners include Karenna Dean Shelton, Brandi Houchens, Melissa Ann Pitcock, Sandi Dee Hogan, Joshua Amos Johnson, Joseph Preston Lane, Andy Rogers, and Justin Franklin.

June 17, 1982 – “The Heiress” opens at Horse Cave Theatre. Kim Page, Earle Edgarton, Gillian Jordan and Terri Hain are four the actors.

June 18, 1982 – Showing at Cinema I & II – Robinhood and E T. Showing at the Star Drive In – Lifeguard and Grease.

June 20, 1982 – Mrs. Anna Pearl Sublett will celebrate her 82nd birthday on Sunday, June 20.

Mr. and Mrs. Willie D Phillips of Gamaliel have won a trip to Caesars Palace Grand Prix, Las Vegas. The contest was sponsored by Champion Spark Plug Co.

June 22, 1982 – Jury selection began for the new trial in the second penalty phase of the David Leroy Skaggs trial.

June 23, 1982 – Construction of approx. 17% more building space at R R Donnelley is underway.

Eight year old Jason Britt scored a hole in one last month at the #16 hole at Hideaway Hills Golf Course.

June 25, 1982 – More than 125 are presented at the 3rd annual Bewly-Buley Reunion held in Elizabethtown.

June 27, 1982 – Community Orchestra has recently been formed in the area. Members include Kenny Weber, Dan Woodford, Mindy DeBert, Joe Donald Taylor, Annette Johnson, Meredith Harris, and Lucian Larkin.

Jerry Shive is promoted to Manufacturing Supervisor in Dept. KM at RR Donnelley.

June 28, 1982 – 1931 & 1932 graduating classes of Ft. Run High School met for the first time since graduation at the Barren River Lodge on May 28th. There were 34 graduates in the 2 classes of which 27 were present for the reunion.

June 29, 1982 – John McCarley is the new principal at Liberty Street. Steve Mayhew will be the new principal at Bunche 6th Grade Center. Mrs. Dorothy Akers and Mrs. Mary Lucille Carver are retiring.

Marla Jo Garrett graduated from Sullivan’s Junior College of Business in Louisville.

June 30, 1982 – Jury rules Skaggs should die in the electric chair. The case was automatically appealed to Ky. Supreme Ct.

New Temple Hill Lions Club officers are C P Harlow, trustee, Mike Harlow, Lion Tamer, Larry Perkins, Tail Twister, Rollin Bartlett, Treas., Doug Belcher, Sec., Ronnie Nichols, 3rd VP, Robert Simpson, 1st VP and David Simmons, President.




Who's Online

We have 691 guests online

Today is Tina Kinslow Perry Day!!

WCLU Weather

°F | °C
Partly Cloudy
Humidity: 61%
Scattered Thunderstorms
71 | 91
21 | 32
Partly Cloudy
63 | 88
17 | 31